Ian Turner Missing

Ian Turner is my CO-Moderator at Webmasterworld, we both went to the New Orleans Webmasterworld conference. On friday morning (day of pubcon) he checked out of the Park Plaza to check into another hotel..

Does anyone know what hotel he checked into ?? did anyone see Ian Saturday or Sunday

UK police now trying to follow up on his movements in New Orleans so any information about his movements Friday, Saturday and Sunday urgently required.
i.e. Approximate time and place that you talked to him or saw him

#
DaveN

Scraper Sites

Ok Scraper Sites, Wrong or Right ???

Googles new guidelines state : http://www.google.com/webmasters/guidelines.html

These quality guidelines cover the most common forms of deceptive or manipulative behavior, but Google may respond negatively to other misleading practices not listed here (e.g. tricking users by registering misspellings of well-known websites). It’s not safe to assume that just because a specific deceptive technique isn’t included on this page, Google approves of it. Webmasters who spend their energies upholding the spirit of the basic principles listed above will provide a much better user experience and subsequently enjoy better ranking than those who spend their time looking for loopholes they can exploit.

But, i don’t think that Scraper sites are deceptive, they are just large collections of websites collected Via Keywords… so where is the problem..

And why did google give so many the handjob this weekend..

DaveN

Whois poisoning for Google.com?

One of my programmers just noticed this in the whois for google.com:

programmer@davenspamserver87:~$ whois -h whois.crsnic.net google.com

Whois Server Version 1.3

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

GOOGLE.COM.ZZZZ.DNSW.COM
GOOGLE.COM.VN
GOOGLE.COM.SUCKS.FIND.CRACKZ.WITH.SEARCH.GULLI.COM
GOOGLE.COM.IS.NOT.HOSTED.BY.ACTIVEDOMAINDNS.NET
GOOGLE.COM.IS.APPROVED.BY.NUMEA.COM
GOOGLE.COM.HAS.LESS.FREE.PORN.IN.ITS.SEARCH.ENGINE.THAN.SECZY.COM
GOOGLE.COM.AU
GOOGLE.COM

To single out one record, look it up with “xxx”, where xxx is one of the
of the records displayed above. If the records are the same, look them up
with “=xxx” to receive a full display for each record.

>>> Last update of whois database: Sun, 12 Jun 2005 20:56:26 EDT < <<

NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
registrar's sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
date of the domain name registrant's agreement with the sponsoring
registrar. Users may consult the sponsoring registrar's Whois database to
view the registrar's reported date of expiration for this registration.

TERMS OF USE: You are not authorized to access or query our Whois
database through the use of electronic processes that are high-volume and
automated except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or
modify existing registrations; the Data in VeriSign Global Registry
Services' ("VeriSign") Whois database is provided by VeriSign for
information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information
about or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not
guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a Whois query, you agree to abide
by the following terms of use: You agree that you may use this Data only
for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data
to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail, telephone,
or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
that apply to VeriSign (or its computer systems). The compilation,
repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is expressly
prohibited without the prior written consent of VeriSign. You agree not to
use electronic processes that are automated and high-volume to access or
query the Whois database except as reasonably necessary to register
domain names or modify existing registrations. VeriSign reserves the right
to restrict your access to the Whois database in its sole discretion to ensure
operational stability. VeriSign may restrict or terminate your access to the
Whois database for failure to abide by these terms of use. VeriSign
reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
Registrars.

Has google’s whois been poisoned? Navigating to crsnic.net in a web browser takes you to Verisign’s web page.

Interesting….

What Google can tell you

ok has I watched a site slowly delist itself from Google, It got me thinking why is Google showing the NonWWW version of my site ! and to make matters worse a dns error had made the NonWWW not Resolve ! … a slow and painful lesson, I guess..

but what made Google stop indexing the www and move to the NonWWW , anyway some things that Google will return when you just search for the WWW and the NonWWW version of your url ..

When you search for either avis.co.uk OR www.avis.co.uk you get :

Avis Rent a Car : Hire a car in the UK or at any of our 5000 …
Avis welcomes you to the home of car rental online where you can book your UK
car hire or rent a car at any of our worldwide locations.
www.avis.co.uk/

Google can show you the following information for this URL:
· Show Google’s cache of www.avis.co.uk
· Find web pages that are similar to www.avis.co.uk
· Find web pages that link to www.avis.co.uk
· Find web pages from the site www.avis.co.uk
· Find web pages that contain the term “www.avis.co.uk”

I guess that’s perfect.. :)

But what other’s we often see

Well what about kinghost.com and www.kinghost.com

hmmmm.. not so good and I’ve been seeing this quite a bit recently.

kinghost.com/

Google can show you the following information for this URL:
· Find web pages that are similar to kinghost.com
· Find web pages that link to kinghost.com
· Find web pages from the site kinghost.com
· Find web pages that contain the term “kinghost.com”

against the www version :

King Host
Home | Signup form | Terms & conditions | FAQ (Frequently asked questions) |
Members Area | How to get in touch with us. Welcome …
www8.kinghost.com/

Google can show you the following information for this URL:
· Show Google’s cache of www.kinghost.com
· Find web pages that are similar to www.kinghost.com
· Find web pages that link to www.kinghost.com
· Find web pages from the sitewww.kinghost.com
· Find web pages that contain the term “www.kinghost.com”

Hmmmm no snippet on the NONWWW, But the headers are ok.. but we did get a www8. ??

Headers for kinghost.com (69.90.63.51): HTTP/1.1 200 OK Date: Thu, 19 May 2005 10:00:56 GMT Server: Apache/1.3.29 Set-Cookie: pbct=0;path=/;domain=kinghost.com;expires=Saturday, 2-Jun-2023 16:07:28 GMT; Last-Modified: Tue, 14 Sep 2004 18:42:13 GMT ETag: “880e49-1cba-41473b85″ Accept-Ranges: bytes Content-Length: 7354 Content-Type: text/html Expires: Thu,
19 May 2005 10:00:56 GMT

Headers for www.kinghost.com (69.90.63.51): HTTP/1.1 200 OK Date: Thu, 19 May 2005 10:00:56 GMT Server: Apache/1.3.29 Set-Cookie: pbct=0;path=/;domain=kinghost.com;expires=Saturday, 2-Jun-2023 16:07:28 GMT; Last-Modified: Tue, 14 Sep 2004 18:42:13 GMT ETag: “880e49-1cba-41473b85″ Accept-Ranges: bytes Content-Length: 7354 Content-Type: text/html Expires: Thu, 19 May 2005 10:00:56 GMT

What about www.webposition.com ?? we all know they they felt the hurt …

Sorry, no information is available for the URL www.webposition.com
· If the URL is valid, try visiting that web page by clicking on the following link: www.webposition.com
· Find web pages from the site www.webposition.com
· Find web pages that contain the term www.webposition.com

But we did get the “If the URL is valid, try visiting that web page by clicking on the following link:”

And then if you have been really kicked hard you get the …

Sorry, no information is available for the URL www.xxxxxxxxx.com
· Find web pages from this site www.xxxxxxxxx.com
· Find web pages that Contain the term “www.xxxxxxxxx.com”

and if you are really lucky in a few weeks you will get “If the URL is valid, try visiting that web page by clicking on the following link:”

would the real David Naylor..

Please stand up .. :)

I got an email today from David Naylor an he had created a Firefox theme.. hehe

so i thought well if he can go ego searching so could I

David Naylor’s that are not DaveN !

David Naylor The Painter
David Naylor The Backgammon Board Maker
David Naylor The Attonery

even a David Naylor with Civil War Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient !

DaveN

+ Advertise Here